Elections News

76.28% Voters appeared in first phase of Chhattisgarh Assembly Election

76.28% Voters appeared in first phase of Chhattisgarh Assembly Election
76.28% Voters appeared in first phase of Chhattisgarh Assembly Election

A voter turnout of 76.28 percent was recorded at the initial phase of elections in Chhattisgarh covering 18 Meeting sections, a poll officer said Tuesday.

The remarkable turnout proves that Naxals threats appear to have had little influence from the very first phase of polling in eight Maoist-hit districts, ” the official said.

“Chhattisgarh listed 76.28 percent polling in the initial period of elections held Monday,” state Chief Electoral Officer Subrat Sahoo stated in a media conference.

The polling percentage in those 18 chairs in the 2013 Assembly polls was 75.93 percent, ” he said.

The maximum polling percent on Monday was listed at Dongargaon (85.15), followed closely by Khujji (84.48), Khairagarh (84.31), Bastar (83.51), Kondagaon (82.84), Dongargarh (82.53), Keshkal (81.32), Chitrakot (80.31), Mohla-Manpur (80), Rajnandgaon (78.66), Kanker (78.54) Jagdalpur (78.24), Bhanupratappur (76.77), Antagarh (74.45), Narayanpur (74.40), Dantewada (60.62), Konta (55.30) and Bijapur 47.35 percent.

“A fantastic number of voters in distant regions exercised their franchise,” Mr Sahoo explained.

Also Read: Niti Aayog defines a policy for Coal Self-Sufficiency

The last polling percentage is a lot higher than the previous estimates, which ranged from 60 to 70 percent.

The Election Commission, in a press conference at New Delhi Monday evening, had said 70 percent turnout was recorded at stage 1 of Chhattisgarh polls. Nevertheless, Mr. Sahoo had informed colleagues at Raipur afterward Monday that 60.49 percent turnout was listed, including the figure could go up.

There were three experiences between security staff and Naxals, and an IED blast Monday from the districts which went into the polls however, the voting procedure, held under heavy security cover, wasn’t affected.

In distant Naxal-affected locations, the polling obtained a fantastic response from Republicans who seemed excited to exercise their franchise,” Mr. Sahoo explained.

More than 1.25 lakh authorities and paramilitary personnel were deployed at the 18 constituencies falling under Naxal-hit regions of Bastar, Kanker, Sukma, Bijapur, Dantewada, Kondagaon, Narayanpur and Rajnandgaon districts.

Also Read: Denied Ticket, Rajasthan MLA Surendra Goyal Quits BJP

The next phase of polling at 72 chairs, from this 90-member Meeting, could be held on November 20 and counting of votes could occur on December 11.

About the author


Savan Kaneriya


Savan is a senior reporter at Sarkari.news. He is writing blogs since last one year. He is very much connected with the Indian Elections and Politics since last one year. Here, he covers all the latest news related to Elections. He likes to inform people about the latest elections held in each and every part of India. Moreover, he likes to watch movies in his free time.

To get in touch with Savan for news reports he published you can email him on [email protected] or reach him out in social media linked below.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment