Elections News

Chhattisgarh Assembly Election: Around 72% Voting turnout in the second phase says Election Commission

Chhattisgarh Assembly Election
Chhattisgarh Assembly Election

A voter turnout of 71.93 percent was recorded at the next and the last period of Chhattisgarh assembly elections,” said the Election Commission on Tuesday. The entire average turnout from the country has been 74.17 percent at current with survey officials estimating the last numbers to be small greater than this amount. In 2013, the whole unemployment percentage was 77.12 percent.

The polling at the next stage was held in 72 constituencies of 90-seat meeting, where 1,079 candidates, such as 119 girls contested by an electorate of 1,54,00,596.

Polling was held from 8 am to 5 pm. But, voting took place from 7 am to 3 pm two polling booths –Amamora (accepted no 72) and Modh (no more 76) at Bindranavgarh constituency (Gariaband district)– because of Naxal threats.

Meanwhile, the technical snags from the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) at some stalls postponed the polling. Throughout the afternoon, the survey watchdog eliminated a presiding officer and a polling team by the polling booths in Marwahi constituency of Bilaspur district, after getting complaints. “A question was arranged against Mandavi and Tiwari and they’ve been ousted in the polling responsibility,” a statement issued by survey officials said.

Also Read: Narendra Modi blames former Congress govt in Madhya Pradesh of derailing development in state

Over 1.50 lakh safety personnel were deployed throughout the country to keep a continuous security vigil, along with a unique watch was retained from the Naxal affected regions of Gariaband, Dhamtari, Mahasamund, Kabirdham, Jashpur and Balrampur. A total of 19,336 polling booths were set up to its next stage, where 444 were announced sensitive booths. Polling at the very first phase of elections in the country was held over 18 chairs of eight Naxal-hit districts on November 12, which listed over 76 percent voter turnout.

The electoral year in the country saw an intense effort from both main political parties that the BJP and the Congress using their senior leaders reaching out to Republicans through string of rallies and street shows such as PM Narendra Modi and Congress chief Rahul Gandhi.

The ruling BJP retains 43 of the 72 seats, together with the celebration sweeping several regions from the Chhattisgarh plains from the 2013 elections. The Congress is convinced of consolidating its place and overturning shortages in the plains with predator rage against the BJP.

Also Read: European Union may increase military ties with India

There’s a third part for the very first time at a bipolar condition, following the Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), former chief minister Ajit Jogi’s Janata Congress Chhattisgarh and the Communist Party of India (CPI) linking hands to contest the polls.

The counting of votes will occur on December 11 and four other nations.

About the author


Nirali Vasoya


Nirali is a journalist as well as a social media manager at Sarkari.news. She is reporting news related to Indian Government Policies. She has done social media managing working for various websites since last 1 year. Apart from this, she likes photography.

To get in touch with Nirali for news reports she published you can email her on [email protected] or reach him out in social media linked below.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment